“Well Seasoned”

Melina Jones invited us into her San Franciscan home for a sit down interview on a beautiful Saturday morning.

“You’re letting everyone see who you are, and you can’t fake it. ”
“I find that I get the most inspiration from being on the back of the MUNI.”
“Of course women should have a voice. That’s like, ‘of coarse I should breath today’.”
“Personally, I’ve never ever thought of myself as a female MC, ever! Because I’ve always rhymed with boys; I’ve rhymed with girls, and I’ve just rhymed. I’m an MC period. And the reason I feel like I’m an MC is beacuse of my dexterity; my dexterity is well seasoned, and I am very confident in my work. So, adding the whole ‘female’ thing to me, it kind of waters down the whole title of being an MC. I can’t stand it, it’s kind of like being a ‘lady truck driver’.I’m an MC who happens to be a female.”
“I’m as soft as a pillow, and I’m as hard as steel.”

Leave a comment